Top Nav

TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle

TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle

Multi anything gets my juices flowing. That’s why I was pretty excited when I found out I got to test and review the TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle (ASR) multi-caliber kit. It’s like a multi-tool that goes bang! Here’s what I found out through my testing and evaluation.

_MG_0126I will start off by saying this gun is fun. If you haven’t had the chance to shoot a PCC (Pistol Caliber Carbine) it is something I would highly recommend. It is hard to define exactly why but they are my favorite type of rifle to shoot. Perhaps it’s the fact that it turns ammo into a multi-platform option? Anyway lets talk specifics about what this kit comes with. The first thing you notice is the sturdy pack included in the complete package. I would compare it to a 72 hour pack that you would find at most tactical outfitters. Good pocket layout and comfy well padded straps for the shoulders, waist, and chest. There’s even a dedicated pocket where you can insert a level 3 ballistic protection plate which is sold separately.

The real fun begins when you dig into the unassuming cardboard box containing the rifle. Inside you will find three barrels; 9MM, .40S&W and .45ACP along with the three corresponding bolts. There are also three magazines for the said calibers. One important thing to note is that the ASR takes standard Glock magazines so if you have Glock pistols you should be able to multi-purpose your mags. There are two lower receivers included since the .45ACP mag well is larger than that of the 9MM and .40S&W; and one upper receiver. Also included in this kit is an AIM Sports four power scope and two sets of rings, a medium and an extra high set.

TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle
_MG_0129
TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle

One of the big selling points of this rifle as a “survival rifle” is the way in which it stows. The barrel has a heat shield that extends slightly past the front of the upper receiver. This heat shield is also the barrel nut. If you want to put the rifle in a pack all you have to do is grab the heat shield and unscrew it. You will feel a ratcheting ball detent in the upper that holds the barrel in place during firing but it is easily overcome by hand force to unscrew the barrel from the action. When you’re done you have a package just over 16” long. Pretty neat trick.

_MG_0145After unpacking the rifle we assembled it with the .40S&W components. I did encounter one issue when mounting the scope. I wanted to mount it using the taller rings as they provided the most comfortable cheek weld but upon finger tightening one of them, a screw hole stripped out. It can happen with any mass produced ring and TNW replaced it later with no trouble. So, we used the lower rings and it worked fine. We then went to the indoor range at Threat Dynamics and put some rounds down the tube. Another reviewer and I had some ejection issues but upon further investigation we found it was shooter error. We were holding our hands a little too far back and slightly covering the ejection port causing spent cases to bounce back into the chamber area. Once we adjusted our hold it ran 100%. It was printing decent groups at the limited range we were shooting at.

I decided I wanted to test the other calibers in the outdoors at a little further distance so I contacted a friend and we spent an evening at his property punching paper and banging steel with the 9MM and .45ACP conversions. We stretched the distance to about 35 yards on paper and a little further on steel. Again the ASR shot tight groups IF we really focused on our trigger control. The trigger is not great and it sits pretty far back toward the grip so you really have to concentrate so you don’t over reach it and pull your shots all over. When running the 9MM conversion we did experience some problems. All the issues could be traced back to the magazine though. The 9MM magazine provided was not a Glock factory magazine but an aftermarket brand. It did not want to lock into the lower properly. After working it in and out a number of times and being very forceful with it we got it working to the point where the gun fed and ejected better but it was never 100% with the 9MM conversion installed.

_MG_0131
TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle
TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle

At this point it was starting to get dark and the AIM Sports optic while adequate for daytime was a little dim in the failing light. We opted to switch to a Trijicon ACOG when we swapped out the .45ACP conversion since you have to dismount the scope to accomplish the caliber switch. That’s when this rifle really came to life! The clarity and better cheek weld afforded by the ACOG made running steel plates and dueling trees a snap. And the big 230gr .45ACP slugs hit with authority! There’s no unpleasant recoil when shooting the .45ACP but you definitely know its giving more wallop than the other two calibers! The .45ACP magazine provided was a Glock factory mag and it locked in and ran the smoothest of the three.

TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle - WIN THIS FREE GUN

Not everything about this rifle is peaches and cream. I’m not a big fan of having to remove the optic to change calibers. Another issue with the caliber change in this rifle is the bolt retaining screws. If you tighten them all the way down it locks up the bolt so you have to run them down until they stop and then back them off, essentially leaving the part that locates your bolt “floating” in the gun ready to come loose or tighten up and lock up the action. I did not see this happen and it could be an unreal concern but it was still in the back of my mind the whole time.

TNW Firearms Aero Survival RifleA brief word about the stock: It’s very wobbly and I strongly dislike it. There are tension screws to take out the wobble but if you tighten them enough to sure up the stock then it no longer slides over the buffer tube. Its only saving grace is the QD swivel attachment points and the one swivel that comes with it.

TNW Firearms Aero Survival RifleThe last area of dis-satisfaction I will bring up is the controls. The mag release and safety have no texture to them at all and feel the same to a finger-tip as the trigger and take-down pins. The only way to reliably work them was to look directly at them to make sure you were pushing on the right button/pin.

Now I know what you’re thinking, but I actually don’t hate this gun. It was tons of fun to shoot. All of my complaints are because I think it is a really cool idea. I love that I can cut the length in half to store it in a pack without any tools. I love that it takes the same mag as pistols most people already have. If you get a good magazine and keep your fat fingers out of the way it is very reliable.

Overall I think this multi-caliber rifle kit makes for a really fun afternoon plinker that lets you shoot with the same mags as a pistol you might already own. It also helps you clean up those pesky odds and ends of ammo in three calibers you might have laying around. As a survival rifle it gives you options on using different ammo depending on availability. And of course you can shorten the length by half without any tools which makes it easy to stow. I think the TNW ASR is a good option to consider if you are looking for a fun pistol caliber carbine…and in my opinion everyone needs at least one of those.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove © 2015

133 Responses to TNW Firearms Aero Survival Rifle

  1. Jeffrey anderson August 20, 2015 at 7:08 pm #

    So cool

  2. David George August 20, 2015 at 7:14 pm #

    What a great addition to any survival or hunting kit! Outstanding, I’ll take it.

  3. Todd Hilton August 20, 2015 at 7:27 pm #

    Tommy Gun reborn??? Awesome concept!!

  4. Jeff August 20, 2015 at 7:36 pm #

    Handy little rifle.

  5. Matthew SeLegue August 21, 2015 at 12:30 pm #

    That’s cool

  6. John Sollazzo August 21, 2015 at 6:50 pm #

    Would love to win this rifle great caliber.

  7. Jesse Morrison August 22, 2015 at 10:45 pm #

    Hey this is Jesse I work at crimson trace I meet you Friday at the fair I want to win this badass gun bad

  8. Raymond Donohue August 23, 2015 at 6:20 am #

    Nice giveaway

  9. Joe Burba August 24, 2015 at 1:48 pm #

    sweet

  10. Noel Sabin August 26, 2015 at 11:04 am #

    That’s a cool little rifle!

  11. FRANK MALLORY August 26, 2015 at 11:14 am #

    What a fun setup!

  12. Paul Albarado August 26, 2015 at 11:27 am #

    I would love to win one of these fun guns

  13. BOB SCOTT August 26, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

    That would be so much fun! Great writing too!

  14. Del Villaber August 27, 2015 at 11:30 pm #

    I would to get more info. On how I can get one .

  15. Jose Velazquez August 28, 2015 at 3:42 am #

    Well no email for me yet, so congrats to the LUCKY winner. You should feel very blessed to win this package.

  16. Michael Perkins August 28, 2015 at 8:11 pm #

    Good luck.

  17. Scott Swanson August 31, 2015 at 2:28 pm #

    What a great package. I need one!

  18. Rodney fair September 1, 2015 at 3:31 am #

    Love to win it

  19. Ricks Rifles Scopes December 8, 2015 at 12:00 pm #

    Did the drawing already take place? Haven’t seen it announced yet… Awesome product.

    • Oregun Shooters December 22, 2015 at 11:41 am #

      Yes it did. Notice the entry form has been replaced with “Sweepstakes ended 8/26/2015.”

      • Lanette March 23, 2017 at 8:54 pm #

        For those of you who will be visiting Pienza, I would also like to recommend another wonderful osteria, Sette di Vi2nL#8n30;&uciaoo is your charming host..I can’t wait to return and sample all of the other wonderful suggestions!

  20. Jake March 13, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

    Geez, guess I am the only ne who has read
    http://www.tnwfirearmssucks.com

    • Battlehymn March 16, 2016 at 10:27 am #

      I wouldn’t put much stock into that rant … after reading his site and viewing his videos, he’s not very knowledgeable. Not sure why he started screwing with the action immediately after un-boxing it. OK so it was a bit stiff … so was nearly every firearm I’ve ever purchased new (only exceptions have been high dollar 1911’s and precision rifles) … fire it, clean it, lube it, repeat.
      That fool converted his Gen4 to left hand and tried stuffing a gen3 mag in it … that is commonly known not to work. The ASR IS Glock Mag compatible, use proper gen4 mags and you’ll have no issues. If he was trying to prove that the ASR was not Glock mag compatible, what he should have done is insert the Gen4 mag into the ASR (which would have worked, and probably why there is no video of it).
      Given the above, he was probably the catalyst for the failure of his own firearm.

      As for his issues with the sales dept.: It seems only part of the story was told, there are communications which are obviously missing. Then he started pestering them 3 weeks after ordering, the website very clearly says 6-8 weeks for delivery. There probably were issues on both sides there, but usually, 6-8 weeks doesn’t mean start harassing the sales dept 3 weeks in.
      And he did get the rifle, so the whole thing is a bit contradictory of itself.

      I would check one out for yourself … the majority of reviews seem quite positive.

      • Abljakee March 16, 2016 at 4:24 pm #

        That was a pretty emotional response.
        I went back and read it again.
        He states that it is not 100% glock compatible, for several reasons. Including some of his mags worked in the gun. Some required machining.
        You seem to state that even though it ships with a gen3 mag that may not work in a gen4 that it is still 100% glock compatible. How is that mathmatically possible ?
        Why not ship it with a gen4 mag and be truly 100% glock compatible.
        Then you give him heat about the 3 week inquiry when it says possible 6-8 weeks.
        He said they kept telling him it shipped, but it didn’t. 3 times.
        I would call also if a vendor told me something shipped but it never showed up.
        Then you chastise him for testing the bolt and general operation of the gun.
        Who does that ?
        I do. Everytime i take out one of my guns. Including making sure it is not loaded.
        I think many gun owners do.
        Lastly you totally skip over all the other issues this pooe slob had.
        Lke the whole misfeed, jamming buffer spring deal.
        If you dont pay attention to anything i have written please at least check your firearm everytime before use. For your own safety.

        • Battlehymn March 20, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

          Trust me … I’m incapable of an emotional response.

          It obviously did ship, or he’d not have the rifle in the videos.

          Like I said, the totality of the correspondence between he and the sales person is not there. I’m sure there were improprieties on both sides.
          This age of internet instant gratification amazes me … please keep in mind that when you order directly from TNW you are basically ordering a custom firearm, they have to build it from one chunk of aluminum and another of steel. If he didn’t have the patience to wait the low estimate of 6 weeks then why didn’t he get one stocked by a distributor? Much less, halve the low estimate and start demanding the item after only 3 weeks … most custom builders I know would have cancelled his order at that point. What I’m trying to say is that his expectation was not reasonable. Now if the sales staff was dishonest and told him it shipped after three weeks, when it hadn’t, then that is rather shady business practice which they should be fined for.

          There were several things in his explanations and videos that just struck me as wrong … the buffer spring assembly he showed was the one they put in the pistol variant … my ASR’s buffer looks more like a standard AR (it’s not, but it’s visually close). Gen3 mags in a Gen4 Pistol set up for left hand release has never worked, and is common knowledge. Adjusting set screws on a receiver and not using some form of locktite is folly.

          I’m just saying, mine works fine, as do many others … go handle one for yourself and then form an opinion. It’s not the “best” at anything, but it is surprisingly good for what it is. Yes, this guy had an unfortunate experience (some of which, I believe, was of his own making), it doesn’t mean you or anyone else will. Unless you are just trying to sow distaste for this rifle, then please go on, or don’t … whatever.

          • Battlehymn March 20, 2016 at 7:46 pm #

            EDIT: He does at one point state that he has an ASR (rifle) then later states that he has an ASP (pistol) when he is talking about his ordering of parts to turn the ASP into an ASR. This is probably where he ran into problems. I believe it is illegal for TNW to sell him the parts to convert the ASP into an ASR without him having a SBR tax stamp for it, because he would then be able to use the ASP barrel on the ASR making it an SBR. Now why they wouldn’t just tell him NO, is beyond me. And why he would think he could just swap the parts without the stamp just leads to more questions.

            Now that I think about it, the whole thing seems shady to me on both sides.

  21. Able March 13, 2016 at 12:30 pm #

    I read it.
    Pretty bad if you have to get the sheriff’s office involved.

    • BillyP November 3, 2016 at 12:57 pm #

      I read it today.
      What he is saying (right or wrong) is that he had bought the pistol, it operated and was constructed poorly.
      He tried to salvage it by converting it to a full rifle. Not SBR, for that all he had to do was add a stock. No need to order that from TNW.
      Then he had more problems with the ordering, manufacturing and delivery until the sheriff got involved.
      I have a friend who has one. He said the mag is not really Glock compatible. It only works for right-handed Glocks. Whereas a real Glock mag will work with either hand.
      Mags are cheap, so I am more interested in the poor workmanship.

  22. Daniel December 13, 2016 at 3:33 pm #

    I would like to know how much for the 45 kit? Please E mail me thank you.

Submit a Review/Comment